latest release

Greetings From Here: Audio Postcards in Transition

by Pauline Gloss 

1. Nylons and a Straitjacket
2. Folded Emotions
3. The Clear-Sighted Telephone
4. Naming The Unnameable
5. A Room With A View
6. Typewritten In Stone
7. Valentine's Day Reclaimed
8. Pre-Heartbreak Heartbreak
9. The Flesh-Colored Music-Box


About the album: 

Greetings from Here: Audio Postcards in Transition is an intentionally low-fi (and for me: high-stakes) project. I made the following cards--amassed, spoken, sometimes narrative and sometimes tonal embroideries--in a period of two weeks for friends I wasn't so sure I still had. The transitions I was facing were and continue to be multiple. Each card acts as a "greetings from" and a construction of an emotional topography: I was speaking directly from a moment, a landscape, a well. The document as a whole works as a sort of personal geography of the moment. 

My studio wasn't set up at the time so I recorded the cards on a built-in laptop microphone and mixed them flat in mono, in a free editing program. These limitations ended up freeing me compositionally--I could make the work quickly and not worry about certain a priori factors such as recording self-noise or resolution and my working methodology began to resemble something similar to that of the mid-nineteenth century en plein air painters: an emphasis on capturing the shape, the resonance of a moment or a series of moments in time by responding with quick, intuitive brush-strokes. There was no pre-writing or scoring. Each piece was completed in somewhere between ten minutes and an hour.

other releases

(coming soon)